New venue for Dutch Open Darts!

RIJSWIJK – 14 june 2014

The 2014 Dutch Open will be played in a new venue – De Bonte Wever Assen – which is the sports and entertainment centre of north Holland. It is a key component in the staging of the 36th Dutch Open, which will be played from January 31st  to February 2nd, 2014.

De Bonte Wever Assen is a beautiful venue in a perfect location,  complete with 4-star hotel accommodation,  an atmospheric event hall, an indoor ‘barstreet’  with various kinds of pubs and bars, several restaurants, and  sub-tropical swimming and sauna facilities…….. and much more!

Niels de Ruiter, Tournament  Director says: “The Dutch Darts Association is very pleased with the transition to De Bonte Wever. It is extremely important to continue exploring new opportunities for this wonderful event and the new venue has plenty of space, good hotel facilities and is the perfect setting to create the atmosphere that suits the event.”

The NDB  recognises De Bonte Wever as a professional venue partner with extensive experience.

“Thanks to the range of facilities on offer,  De Bonte Wever provides  Dutch Open Darts with excellent scope to build on the popularity of the biggest darts open in Europe”, adds Sijmon Timmers,  President of the NDB.

Christa de Ruiter, Director of De Bonte Wever, says: “We are very pleased to welcome the Dutch Open Darts to Assen. The tournament complements our company perfectly and we will be making every effort  to provide players, officials and fans the best darts experience possible.

“Every year we organize a number of major sporting events, including the World Cup Latin & Ballroom dance championships,  and the World Cup Ice Speedway. The Dutch Open Darts will be a perfect addition to our events calendar in 2014. “

It is now possible to make a reservation at De Bonte Wever or at one of the other hotels. There is also a holiday park nearby. The NDB has special pricing agreements for all players and spectators. All accommodation can by found via the following websites:



Please visit the website of the Dutch Open Darts ( to keep updated about all developments and the latest news. Registration for the Dutch Open Darts 2014 will be possible soon!  You can follow the Dutch Open Darts on Twitter ( and on Facebook (

If you have any questions, please contact:
Nederlandse Darts Bond
Paul Engelbertink

tel. +31 (0) 70 366 72 06

New coaches Dutch darts teams

ShirtsNLteam-1Following comprehensive and productive consultation with all concerned, the NDB has made the decision to source new coaches for the Youth, Ladies and Men’s national darts teams.

This means that the long and highly successful career of Dennis van Onselen will end shortly after the Winmau Six Nations Cup Darts 2013. Dennis is well known within the international sport of darts and has been involved within the NDB since 1998 as Technical Director, and later as coach of the national teams.

The NDB will also be looking for a suitable replacement for Cees van Leeuwen, who was appointed as Ladies coach in 2010. His team won the most successful Spring Cup ever staged in 2011, and other titles including the WDF Europe Cup in 2012, which  Dennis also achieved with the Men’s team.

The NDB take this opportunity to thank them both for their dedication to Dutch darts and wish them well for the future.

Met vriendelijke groet, kind regards,
Nederlandse Darts Bond / Dutch Darts Association