Malta Open 2015 – results

Day I

During 10-12/11/2015 those three days 233 participants took part in the 28th edition of the Malta Open at the Topaz Hotel in Bugibba.

In the Men`Winner Umits Singles competition the winner was Umit Uygunsozlu from Turkey who came from a 1-0 defict to be crowned champion (2-1) against the 2001 World Champion and last year’s winner, John Walton. Ann-Kathrin Wigmann from Germany won the womens’ title by defeating Swede, Krisitin Bomander 4-1. Local pair of Andy Keen and Gordon Stanmore came very close in the Men`s pairs as they lost in the Final, 4-2 against John Walton and John Van de Weerd. At the semi-final stage the Maltese pair eliminated another local pair, that of Godfrey Abela and Mario Camilleri. Ladies pairs title was won by singles winner Ann-Kathrin Wigmann and her partner Silke Goebel defeating Kirsty Gibbs and Janet Weedon 4-2.

Locally it was another good performance for our players as Andy Keen reached the semi-final and Norbert Attard the quarter final in the men`s singles. In the doubles competition as mentioned earlier we had 2 local pairs at the semi-final stage.

To conclude this was another success for the Malta Darts Association as during this edition for the first time ever we stream live all the four finals on the association`s Youtube channel. More information can be found on the Facebook group page “Malta Darts Association”. Would like to thank everyone who helped in making this event a success once again.

Men’s singles    Women’s singles  Men’s pairs  Women’s pairs

Men Country Pos Women Country
Umit Uygunsozlu Turkey 1 Ann-Kathrin Wigmann Germany
John Walton England 2 Kristin Bomander Sweden
Andy Keen England 3 Jan Layton Wales
Joe Davis England 3 Maria Pajala Finland
Colin Hargrave England 5 Giada Ciofi Italy
Norbert Attard Malta 5 Maureen Purvis England
Wilco Vermeulen Netherlands 5 Hazel Letcher England
Matt Howard England 5 Debbie McBride England
Zach Quinn England 9 Ally Thomson England
Patric Rey Switzerland 9 Lesley Gibbs England
George Mizzi Malta 9 Christine Readhead England
Lee Jennings England 9 Gabriele Behrens Germany
Andreas Krockel Germany 9 Romana Petrini Italy
Mark Tiller England 9 Ann Chilton England
Martin Azopardi Malta 9 Helen Beruskens England
Mark Layton Wales 9 Cheryl McLoughlin England